Planning Board/Board of Adjustments


The Planning Board/Board of Adjustments is an eight-member citizen advisory board appointed by the Board of Commissioners on a rotating schedule to three-year terms. Six live inside the Town limits. Two reside within the Town’s extraterritorial jurisdiction (ETJ).

The Planning Board reviews and makes recommendations to the Board of Commissioners on all proposals for rezoning, various development-related requests, and amendments and additions to the Town’s zoning regulations and comprehensive plan. The Planning Board has no judicial or final decision authority but provides guidance to the Board of Commissioners on those requests.

The Board of Adjustment conducts public hearings and renders rulings on variances from the Town’s zoning regulations.

The Planning Board/Board of Adjustments meets at 7 pm on the third Monday of each month in the Erwin Municipal Building Board Room at 100 West F Street. Meetings are open to the public.


Agendas are made available prior to all meetings.


  • Joshua Schmieding (term ends 6/21/2024)
  • Ronald Beasley, Jr (term ends 2/21/2025)
  • Rebecca Kelly (term ends 10/16/2026)
  • Kathryn Moore (term ends 10/16/2026)
  • JD Hartman (term ends 1/16/2027)
  • Howard Godwin (term ends 7/17/2026)
  • Nicholas Skatell (term ends 8/21/2026)